• Slide1
  • slide5
  • slide2
  • Slide4

In order to view this object you need Flash Player 9+ support!

Get Adobe Flash player

Powered by RS Web Solutions

Station at a Glance

Commissioned on 26th May, 1963, All India Radio, Sambalpur extended service to the people of western part of Odisha as an auxiliary centre, drawing most of it’s programmes from AIR, Cuttack.  Initially, it was catering to the rural listeners with emphasis on Intensive Agricultural Development Programme (IADP).  In a phased manner it started broadcasting programmes of information and entertainment for Farm & Home, Youth, Education B’cast, Industrial and general audience in shape of Sambalpuri music, Radio Plays and special audience programmes of composite nature.  Initially this station transmitted and also recorded some programmes from its transmitting centre located at Maneswar, 10 Kms. away from Sambalpur town.  The permanent type-I Studios along with the office complex was commissioned on 21st Sept., 1984.  The transmitting capacity of the station was earlier 20 KW MW which was augmented to 100 KW and has started functioning since 1998.  In the year 2003, the Hard-Disk recording facility was imbibed to its studios.  Computers with server in all the studios were linked through LAN system.  The digitization of studio set up helps in saving space, making work faster, adding quality to programmes, saving of time and for dispatch of programme through ISDN to sister stations. 

The 5 KW FM Transmitter meant for Primary Channel of the station was commissioned on 23rd November, 2015 to facilitate people tune in to FM @ 101 MHz. and listen to a variegated programmes being transmitted daily.  The FM Transmitter was dedicated to the Nation by Dr.P.K.Mishra, Addl. Principal Secretary, Prime Minister's Office in the august presence of Shri Suresh Chandra Panda, Member(Personnel), Prasar Bharati in a glittering function held at Dr.Radhanath Rath Community Centre, Modipara, Sambalpur.  

Adding another feather to its cap, the inauguration of origination of regional news in Sambalpuri from Regional News Unit of this station was held on 23rd January, 2016 by Shri Pradeep Kumar Pujari, Secretary, Ministry of Power, Govt. of India in the august presence of Shri Sitanshu Kar, Director General(News), News Services Division and Shri N.P.Joshi, Director(Administration), DG, AIR.